Log in


19 Oct 2018 12:10 PM | Deleted user

ST. JOHN’S, Oct. 19, 2018 – The Newfoundland and Labrador Organization of Women Entrepreneurs (NLOWE) will be honouring outstanding women entrepreneurs at a red carpet event on Thursday October 25th. Now in its 21st year, the Entrepreneur of the Year Awards is an annual celebration, that recognizes women business owners from across the province for their important contributions to the economy and their communities.

Awards to be presented throughout the evening include the Entrepreneurial Excellence Award sponsored by RBC Royal Bank, the Young Entrepreneur Award sponsored by College of the North Atlantic, the Trailblazer Award sponsored by Cox & Palmer, the Trendsetter Award sponsored by TD Canada Trust, the Momentum Award sponsored by Husky Energy, and the Economic Impact Award sponsored by Hebron Project.

The event will take place from 6:00 - 10:00 p.m. on October 25th at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. The Honourable Dwight Ball, Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador and is among the speakers scheduled to address the attendees.

For over two decades, NLOWE’s awards program has paid tribute to the province’s most successful women entrepreneurs. By recognizing these entrepreneurs, NLOWE hopes to advance their business and personal networks, to provide significant profile and visibility for them and their businesses, and to increase the number of role models and mentors for all women in business. To date, hundreds of women from every sector of the economy have been nominated for an NLOWE Entrepreneur of the Year Award. Further information about NLOWE’s awards program is available online at www.nlowe.org/awards.

The Government of Canada, through the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA), provided $178,800 to enable NLOWE to deliver business management skills training initiatives for women entrepreneurs in the province throughout the year, including the awards gala event.

“I congratulate all nominees and award winners on their business achievements. I wish you continued success as you grow your businesses and contribute to a strong and vibrant economy,” said the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development and Minister responsible for ACOA. “Through ACOA, the Government of Canada is proud to support NLOWE and the key services it provides, such as business mentoring and training initiatives, to help women succeed in business in Newfoundland and Labrador.”

Tickets are still available for the awards gala at a cost of $100 + HST for NLOWE members and $150 + HST for non-members. Corporate tables with premium seating for eight people are also available for $950 + HST. Interested persons may register online at www.nlowe.org/events or call 709.754.5555 (toll-free 1.888.NLOWE.11). The deadline to register is Monday, October 22nd.

In addition to the 2018 Entrepreneur of the Year Award sponsors, we are pleased to announce that Suncor, Power & Associates, BDC and The Telegram are this year’s Gala sponsors, with the Décor sponsor being Moments by Martha.

Members of the media interested in attending should contact Stephanie Dunn, Marketing and Communications Coordinator, at the contact information provided below.

NLOWE is the only provincial organization that is dedicated exclusively to the support of women in business. NLOWE provides valuable and relevant training through a large network of services, resources and opportunities to help women develop and grow their businesses. NLOWE offers services to women in business thanks to ACOA, Status of Women Canada, and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador.


For more information, contact:

Stephanie Dunn, Marketing & Communications Coordinator, NLOWE
Phone: 709.754.5455
Toll-free: 1.888.NLOWE.11

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software