Log in

CategoriesEligibility | Nomination | Nominees | Selection | Winners

Award Categories

  • Trailblazer: recognizes an entrepreneur who owns and operates a business that has excelled in a non-traditional industry for women-owned businesses or successfully established a business in an industry uncommon to the area in which it operates. This entrepreneur has blazed a trail for others to follow and find success.
  • Trendsetter: recognizes an entrepreneur who owns and operates a successful business that employs innovation and original thinking in both its operational and promotional activities. This entrepreneur’s business stands out from others in its industry for setting trends and turning traditional ideas on their heads.
  • Momentum: recognizes an entrepreneur who has demonstrated significant growth and/or growth potential within a one to three year time span. This entrepreneur has built a business that is adaptable and apt to successfully leverage opportunities for continued growth.
  • Economic Impact: recognizes an entrepreneur whose business has significantly impacted the local economy. This entrepreneur has improved the economic position of the community in which it operates by employing local resources, stimulating growth and contributing to sustainable community development.
  • Young Entrepreneur: recognizes an entrepreneur, 35 years of age or younger as of March 31, 2021, that has owned and operated a profitable business for at least two years.
  • Entrepreneurial Excellence: recognizes an entrepreneur who has owned and been in operating control of a business(es) for at least 10 years as of March 31, 2021, who has made a significant impact on the economy, and whose success is an inspiration for other women in business.
And Introducing 2 New Awards
  • Mentor Award: recognizes an established woman business owner (15+ years in business) who has given considerable time and resources to mentoring other women to become successful in business. This award celebrates women who selflessly give of their time and expertise to help other women enjoy success as entrepreneurs.
  • Leadership Award: recognizes a woman who has demonstrated that she is a champion for the advancement of women in general and women in the entrepreneurial space. She is recognized in her community as a successful business owner and is vocal in advocating for improved conditions for women entering business. This award would be open to current or former women entrepreneurs.


To be eligible for a 2021 Entrepreneur of the Year Award, a nominee must have owned and operated a viable business for a minimum of two full years as of March 31, 2021. All women in business, except where noted below, are eligible for nomination.

A nominee must have ownership of her business(es) at least equal to any of the other majority shareholders. Those who do not own 100 percent of the business must provide detailed information on the remaining shareholders or partners in the business including the percentage owned by each individual and his/her role in the business. Nominee must be responsible for the business(es) day-to-day management and financial performance, and have operating control of the business to be considered for an award.

The following are eligible for awards:
  • Private companies
  • Partnerships
  • Franchisees
  • Public companies
  • Previous winners of NLOWE's Entrepreneur of the Year Awards
The following are NOT eligible for awards:
  • Non-profit organizations
  • Associations
  • Elected officials of municipal, provincial and federal governments
  • NLOWE board members
  • Board Companies (owners or managers of companies that are owned wholly or in part by current members of NLOWE's Board of Directors)
All nominees must be residents of the province of Newfoundland and Labrador and their nominated businesses must be located and operated in the same.

All nominees and the business(es) for which they are nominated must be in good standing with the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA).

      *Please note that these eligibility requirements do not apply to the Corporation of the Year Awards category.


      The nomination deadline for the 2021 Entrepreneur of the Year Awards is Friday, August 6, 2021.


      Nominees may be contacted to determine eligibility and to provide additional information.


      Finalists will be chosen by a selection committee consisting of NLOWE staff and contacted for further information and to determine eligibility. The Selection Committee(s) will identify the top candidates from the finalists chosen and submitted to NLOWE's Board of Directors for final approval. All decisions are final and are not subject to review.

      Award winners will be notified and invited to accept their NLOWE Entrepreneur of the Year Awards Gala, at a date to be determined.

      For more information, please contact:

      Judy Raske
      Office Manager
      Phone: 709.754.5326
      Toll-free: 1.888.NLOWE.11 (1.888.656.9311)
      Email: jraske@nlowe.org

      Upcoming events

      Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software